History: Home

Comprehensive, multi-disciplinary database that contains many peer-reviewed journals. This is a good place to start for most topics.

This collection was developed in conjunction with the American Theological Library Association (ATLA) to preserve endangered serials related to African American religious life and culture. The collection includes more than 170 titles related to African American life and culture, 60,000 pages of searchable primary source content, reports and annuals from African American religious organizations and social service agencies, as well as African American periodicals, and coverage of African American religious organizations, churches and institutions.

Articles on the history of the United States and Canada.

A wide range of documentaries (like those from The History Channel), newsreels, and other archival footage. It currently has over 5,700 videos in its collection, equaling over 1,400 hours of footage.

The Civil War Primary Source Documents collection provides firsthand perspectives from hospitals and prison camps and reactions to the War from the home front. While focus is placed on the War years, this resource also includes important contextual documents in the crucial years leading up to the War and after the fall of the Confederacy. Primary resources include letters, diaries, administrative records, photographs and illustrations. Personal accounts appear in various scrapbook journals and family portraits.

A list of all EBSCO's databases one can possibly search. Search them one-by-one or all at once.

A full-text searchable, facsimile-image database which provides an as-it-happened window on events, culture, and daily life in nineteenth-century America. The collection features publications of all kinds, from the political party newspapers at the beginning of the nineteenth century to the mammoth dailies that shaped the nation at the century’s end. Includes major newspapers as well as those published by African Americans, Native Americans, women’s rights groups, labor groups, the Confederacy, and other groups and interests. Also included are illustrated papers that bring the nineteenth century to life through the drawings of many artists.

This collection, developed in conjunction with the New-York Historical Society, contains handwritten volumes documenting military orders, movements and engagements by brigade, regiment, company and other specific military units between 1748 and 1817. The content in Orderly Books provides detailed accounts of troops’ daily lives, documenting everything from court martial cases to the price of necessities charged by locals.