Searchable, browsable full-text of the 22-volume Oxford English Dictionary. Use Find Word for definitions. Use Advanced Search for etymological searches. Click “Thesaurus” to search the Pocket Oxford American Thesaurus for synonyms.
Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social sciences content; since 1995, its electronic journal collections have supported a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide. MUSE books and journals, from leading university presses and scholarly societies, are fully integrated for search and discovery.
Online library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 382 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources.
Best Bets and New Additions
The Oxford Companion to American Literature by James D. Hart; Phillip Leininger (Other)For more than half a century, James D. Hart's The Oxford Companion to American Literature has been an unparalleled guide to America's literary culture, providing one of the finest resources to this country's rich history of great writers. Now this acclaimed work has been completely revised andupdated to reflect current developments in the world of American letters.For the sixth edition, editors James D. Hart and Phillip Leininger have updated the Companion in light of what has happened in American literature since 1982. To this end, they have revised the entries on such established authors as Saul Bellow, Norman Mailer, and Joyce Carol Oates, and they haveadded more than 180 new entries on novelists (T. Coraghessan Boyle, Tim O'Brien, Louise Erdrich, Don De Lillo), poets (Rita Dove, Weldon Kees), playwrights (Wendy Wasserstein, August Wilson), popular writers (Stephen King, Louis L'Amour), historians (James M. McPherson, David Herbert Donald, WilliamManchester), naturalists (Aldo Leopold, Edward Abbey), and literary critics (Camille Paglia, Richard Ellmann). In addition, the Companion boasts more women's, African-American, and ethnic voices, with new entries on such luminaries as Charlotte Perkins Gilman, M.F.K. Fisher, William Least Heat-Moon,Ursula Le Guin, and Oscar Hijuelos, among many others.These additions represent only some of the revisions for the new edition. Of course, the basic qualities of the Companion that readers have grown to know and love over the years are as superb as ever. With over 5,000 total entries, The Oxford Companion to American Literature reflects a dynamicbalance between past and contemporary literature, surveying virtually every aspect of our national literature, from the Pulitzer Prize to pulp fiction, and from Walt Whitman to William F. Buckley, Jr. There are over 2,000 biographical profiles of important American authors (with informationregarding their styles, subjects, and major works) and influential foreign writers as well as other figures who have been important in the nation's social and cultural history. There are more than 1,100 full summaries of important American novels, stories, essays, poems (with verse form noted),plays, biographies and autobiographies, tracts, narratives, and histories. The new edition provides historical background and astute commentary on literary schools and movements, literary awards, magazines, newspapers, and a wide variety of other matters directly related to writing in America.Finally, the book is thoroughly cross-referenced and features an extensive and fully updated index of literary and social history.Ranging from Captain John Smith to John Updike, and from Anne Bradstreet to Anne Rice, the sixth edition of The Oxford Companion to American Literature is up to date, accurate, and comprehensive, a delight for both the casual browser and the serious student.
Call Number: PS21 .H3 1995
Publication Date: 1995-10-12
Writing about American Literature by Karen Gocsik; Coleman HutchisonWriting About American Literature, the latest addition to Karen Gocsik's popular "Writing About" series, is an accessible, step-by-step guide to writing about literature, from active reading to final revisions. The only writing guide created with American literature students in mind, this new text understands that active reading is the first step toward producing quality assignments, and sections devoted to reading analytically and interrogating sources provide students with this essential foundation. Tips on reading critically and creatively, generating ideas, narrowing a topic, constructing a thesis, structuring an argument, and revising lead students through the entire arc of the writing process.
Call Number: PE1479.C7 G567 2014
Publication Date: 2014-04-29
Handing One Another Along by Robert Coles; Trevor Hall (Editor); Vicki Kennedy (Editor)In this book on shaping a meaningful and ethical life, the renowned, Pulitzer Prize-winning author explores how character, courage, and human and moral understanding can be fostered by reflecting on the lives of others, through stories. Based on Robert Coles' legendary course at Harvard, this provocative book addresses such questions as, "Who are we? Where do we come from? Where are we going?" It calls on us to become stronger and more aware, by reflecting on ourselves and others with the help of great literature and art. Dr. Coles shows how the work of writers, artists, and thinkers of the past two centuries can inspire our own reflections on the daily lives we lead. He offers a compelling call to venture outside of our own selves and lives and to listen, attentively and with growing humanity, to the way others get through life. Coles encourages us to examine our own character, kindness, and complexity by looking carefully at our perceptions of others, and by studying the wisdom of authors from Charles Dickens to Flannery O'Connor, from James Agee to George Orwell, and many others. In this influential conversation about empathy and engagement, Coles inspires us to seek out deeper meaning in our lives, and guides us toward achieving greater clarity, strength, and richness of understanding, amid the moral, psychological, and social complexities of the modern world.
Call Number: PS169 .E83 C65 2010
Publication Date: 2010-08-31
They Say / I Say by Gerald Graff; Cathy Birkenstein"They Say / I Say"?identifies the key rhetorical moves in academic writing, showing students how to frame their arguments in the larger context of what others have said and providing templates to help them make those moves. And, because these moves are central across all disciplines, the book includes chapters on writing in the sciences, writing in the social sciences, and--new to this edition--writing about literature.
Call Number: PE1431 .G73 2014
Publication Date: 2014-02-04
Everyone's an Author by Andrea Lunsford; Michal Brody; Lisa Ede; Beverly Moss; Carole Clark Papper; Keith WaltersBuilt on the keystones of rhetoric, Everyone's an Author provides a strong foundation for authoring in the digital age: in college essays, but also on Twitter; in print, but also online; with words, but also with sound, video, and images. It shows students that the rhetorical skills they already use in social media, in their home and religious communities, at work and in other nonacademic contexts are the same ones they'll need to succeed in college. Examples and readings drawn from across multiple media and dealing with topics that matter to students today make this a book that everyone who takes first-year writing will relate to.