Critical Thinking is teaching students reflective processes that lead to better habits of mind; comprehensive and nuanced consideration of issues and topics, well beyond basic defining and understanding; assignments and activities emphasize analysis, synthesis, and evaluation, along with the application of skills and concepts.
Aretz, A.J., Bolen, M.T., & Devereux, K.E. (1997). Critical thinking assessment of college students. Journal of College Reading and Learning, 28(1), 12-23.
Bers, T. (2005). Assessing critical thinking in community colleges. New Directions for Community Colleges, 130, 15-25. Full Text Available Online
Browne, M.N., & Freeman, K. (2000). Distinguishing features of critical thinking classrooms. Teaching in Higher Education, 5(3), 301-309. Full Text Available Online
Cheung, C., Rudowicz, E., Kwan, A.S.F., & Yue, X.D. (2002). Assessing university students' general and specific critical thinking. College Student Journal, 36(4), 504-525.
Condon, C., & Kelly-Riley, D. (2004). Assessing and teaching what we value: The relationships between college-level writing and critical thinking abilities. Assessing Writing, 9, 56-75.
Elder, L. (2005). Critical thinking as the key to the learning college: A professional development model. New Directions for Community College, 130, 39-48. Full Text Available Online
Ennis, R. (1993). Critical thinking assessment. Theory into Practice, 32(3), 179-186. Full Text Available Online
Halpern, D.F. (1993). Assessing the effectiveness of critical thinking instruction. Journal of General Education, 42(4), 238-254. Full Text Available Online
Halpern, D.F. (2001). Assessing the effectiveness of critical thinking instruction. Journal of General Education, 50(4), 270-286. Full Text Available Online
Nosich, G.M. (2005). Problems with two standards models for teaching critical thinking. New Directions for Community Colleges, 130, 59-67. Full Text Available Online
Paul, R. (2005). The state of critical thinking today. New Directions in Community Colleges, 130, 27-38. Full Text Available Online
Pithers, R. (2000). Critical thinking in education: A review. Educational Research, 42(3), 237-249.
Facione, P. (1990). Critical thinking: A statement of expert consensus for purposes of educational assessment and instruction. Complete American Philosophical Association Delphi Research Report. Millbrae, CA: California Academic Press.
Jones, E. A., Hoffman, S., Moore, L. M., Ratcliff, G., Tibbetts, S., & Click, B.A.L. (1995). National assessment of college learning: Identifying college graduates' essential skills in writing, speech and listening, and critical thinking. Washington, D.C.: U.S. Department of Education.
Scriven, M., & Paul, R. (2003). Defining critical thinking. Dillon Beach, CA: The Foundation for Critical Thinking. Retrieved from http://www.criticalthinking.org/pages/defining-critical-thinking/766.
Halpern, D.F. (1997). Critical thinking across the curriculum: A brief edition of thought and knowledge. Mahwah, NJ: Lawrence Erlbaum Associates.
McMahon, C.M. (2005). Critical thinking: Unfinished business. San Francisco, CA: Jossey-Bass.
Meyers, C. (1987). Teaching students to think critically. San Francisco, CA: Jossey-Bass. RBC Stacks LB 1590.3 .M49 1986
University of Maryland University College. (2006). Critical thinking as a core academic skill: A review of the literature. Adelphi, MD: University of Maryland University College.
Tentative List of Sources on Critical Thinking Created February 26, 2018.