Designed specifically for the needs of two-year colleges, this databases covers a broad range of topics such as alcohol and drug abuse counseling, biotechnology, electrical technology, health information technology, law enforcement and criminal justice, and more.
All issues of Child Development Abstracts & Bibliography from 1927 to 2001, previously published by the Society for Research in Child Development, and new coverage on child rights and welfare issues. It includes more than 417,000 records with over 18,000 new records added each year.
Multidisciplinary database for general research in the humanities. Topics include, archaeology, communications, dance, film, folklore, gender studies, history, linguistics, literary criticism, music, performing arts, philosophy, and religion.
Features original research and theory using the variety of methods reflective of the full range of social sciences, including quantitative, qualitative, and multi-method designs; research interpretation; integrative review; reports on methodological and statistical advances; and critical discussion concerning all aspects of marriage, other forms of close relationships, and families. The Journal also publishes brief reports.
The premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed, differing views present each side of an issue and help students develop information literacy, critical thinking skills, and the confidence to draw their own valid conclusions.
Comprehensive database covering topics related to emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
Best Bets and New Additions
Man and His Symbols by Carl Gustav JungIllustrated throughout with revealing images, this is the first and only work in which the world-famous Swiss psychologist explains to the layperson his enormously influential theory of symbolism as revealed in dreams.
Call Number: BF173 .J735 1964
Publication Date: 1969-05-06
The Story of Psychology by Morton HuntSocrates, Plato, Descartes, Spinoza, Mesmer, William James, Pavlov, Freud, Piaget, Erikson, and Skinner. Each of these thinkers recognized that human beings could examine, comprehend, and eventually guide or influence their own thought processes, emotions, and resulting behavior. The lives and accomplishments of these pillars of psychology, expertly assembled by Morton Hunt, are set against the times in which the subjects lived. Hunt skillfully presents dramatic and lucid accounts of the techniques and validity of centuries of psychological research, and of the methods and effectiveness of major forms of psychotherapy. Fully revised, and incorporating the dramatic developments of the last fifteen years, The Story of Psychology is a graceful and absorbing chronicle of one of the great human inquiries--the search for the true causes of our behavior.
Call Number: BF81 .H86 1993
Publication Date: 2007-12-18
Minds on Trial: Great Cases in Law and Psychology by Charles Patrick Ewing; Joseph T. McCannEveryday, in courtrooms everywhere, people's lives are touched and shaped by judgments and verdicts, influenced by the testimony of psychologists and other mental health experts. This casebook details 20 high-profile court cases that turned, at least in part, on the expertise of forensic psychologists and psychiatrists, and involved such psychological issues as insanity, criminal profiling, capital punishment, competence to stand trial, infanticide, domestic violence, false confessions, and psychological autopsies. The defendants in these cases range from household names such as Woodly Allen, Mike Tyson, Patty Hearst, and Jeffrey Dahmer to others, whose brief brush with infamy has long been forgotten. But regardless of their notoriety or celebrity status, each of these carefully selected cases teaches important lessons about the role that psychology and the other behavioral sciences play, in our legal system.
Call Number: KF8965 .A7 E95 2006
Publication Date: 2006-01-01
Hidden Persuasion by Rick van Baaren; Matthijs van Leeuwen; Marc AndrewsVisual messages are omnipresent in our daily life. They are constantly attempting to persuade us to buy, learn, and act. Some are more successful than others in influencing our behavior and choices.What is the secret power of these messages? How do they succeed in changing our behavior?This book explains the psychology behind fifty effective influence techniques of visual persuasion and how to apply them. The techniques range from influence essentials to more obscure and insidious methods. The reader will gain deep insights into how visual means are constructed to influence behavior and decision making on an unconscious level.All techniques are supported by rich visual references and additional information on the psychology of behavior change. This publication is not just an eye-opener for professionals and students in the communication and design fields, but also for anybody who wants to understand how our behavior is influenced unconsciously by advertising, social campaigns, and government messages.The book is co-authored by leading figures in social influence and visual persuasion. It is designed as an accessible modern reference book for creating and understanding persuasive visual imagery.
Call Number: HF5822 .A54 2013
Publication Date: 2014-01-28
Play Anything by Ian BogostHow filling life with play-whether soccer or lawn mowing, counting sheep or tossing Angry Birds-forges a new path for creativity and joy in our impatient age Life is boring: filled with meetings and traffic, errands and emails. Nothing we'd ever call fun. But what if we've gotten fun wrong? In Play Anything, visionary game designer and philosopher Ian Bogost shows how we can overcome our daily anxiety; transforming the boring, ordinary world around us into one of endless, playful possibilities. The key to this playful mindset lies in discovering the secret truth of fun and games. Play Anything, reveals that games appeal to us not because they are fun, but because they set limitations. Soccer wouldn't be soccer if it wasn't composed of two teams of eleven players using only their feet, heads, and torsos to get a ball into a goal; Tetris wouldn't be Tetris without falling pieces in characteristic shapes. Such rules seem needless, arbitrary, and difficult. Yet it is the limitations that make games enjoyable, just like it's the hard things in life that give it meaning. Play is what happens when we accept these limitations, narrow our focus, and, consequently, have fun. Which is also how to live a good life. Manipulating a soccer ball into a goal is no different than treating ordinary circumstances- like grocery shopping, lawn mowing, and making PowerPoints-as sources for meaning and joy. We can "play anything" by filling our days with attention and discipline, devotion and love for the world as it really is, beyond our desires and fears. Ranging from Internet culture to moral philosophy, ancient poetry to modern consumerism, Bogost shows us how today's chaotic world can only be tamed-and enjoyed-when we first impose boundaries on ourselves.