Includes the full-text databases, Agricultural Science Collection, Aquatic Science Collection, Atmosopheric Science Collection, Biological Science Collection, Computer Science Collection, Environmental Science Collection, and Materials Science Collection. This collection also includes over 30 abstract-only databases in various scientific fields.
Science Magazine, which publishes the latest scientific news, research, and opinions.
Best Bets and New Additions
E-Z Physics by Robert L. LehrmanKnown for many years as Barron's Easy Way Series, the new editions of these popular self-teaching titles are now Barron's E-Z Series. Brand-new cover designs reflect all new page layouts, which feature extensive two-color treatment, a fresh, modern typeface, and more graphic material than ever-- charts, graphs, diagrams, instructive line illustrations, and where appropriate, amusing cartoons. Meanwhile, the quality of the books' contents remains at least as high as ever. Barron's E-Z books are self-help manuals focused to improve students' grades in a wide variety of academic and practical subjects. For most subjects, the level of difficulty ranges between high school and college-101 standards. Although primarily designed as self-teaching manuals, these books are also preferred by many teachers as classroom supplements--and for some courses, as main textbooks. E-Z books review their subjects in detail, and feature both short quizzes and longer tests with answers to help students gauge their learning progress. Subject heads and key phrases are set in a second color as an easy reference aid. Topics covered in Barron's E-Z Physics include motion, forces, energy, heat, wave motion, noise and music, electricity, magnetism, electromagnetic waves, the properties of light, and an introduction to nuclear physics.
Call Number: QC23.2 .L44 2009
Publication Date: 2009-08-01
Lise Meitner by Ruth Lewin SimeLise Meitner (1878-1968) was a pioneer of nuclear physics and co-discoverer, with Otto Hahn and Fritz Strassmann, of nuclear fission. Braving the sexism of the scientific world, she joined the prestigious Kaiser Wilhelm Institute for Chemistry and became a prominent member of the international physics community. Of Jewish origin, Meitner fled Nazi Germany for Stockholm in 1938 and later moved to Cambridge, England. Her career was shattered when she fled Germany, and her scientific reputation was damaged when Hahn took full credit--and the 1944 Nobel Prize--for the work they had done together on nuclear fission. Ruth Sime's absorbing book is the definitive biography of Lise Meitner, the story of a brilliant woman whose extraordinary life illustrates not only the dramatic scientific progress but also the injustice and destruction that have marked the twentieth century.
Call Number: QC774 .M4 S56 1996
Publication Date: 1996-03-10
Knocking on Heaven's Door by Lisa Randall"Science has a battle for hearts and minds on its hands....How good it feels to have Lisa Randall's unusual blend of top flight science, clarity, and charm on our side." --Richard Dawkins "Dazzling ideas....Read this book today to understand the science of tomorrow." --Steven Pinker The bestselling author of Warped Passages, one of Time magazine's "100 Most Influential People in the World," and one of Esquire's "75 Most Influential People of the 21st Century," Lisa Randall gives us an exhilarating overview of the latest ideas in physics and offers a rousing defense of the role of science in our lives. Featuring fascinating insights into our scientific future born from the author's provocative conversations with Nate Silver, David Chang, and Scott Derrickson, Knocking on Heaven's Door is eminently readable, one of the most important popular science books of this or any year. It is a necessary volume for all who admire the work of Stephen Hawking, Michio Kaku, Brian Greene, Simon Singh, and Carl Sagan; for anyone curious about the workings and aims of the Large Hadron Collider, the biggest and most expensive machine ever built by mankind; for those who firmly believe in the importance of science and rational thought; and for anyone interested in how the Universe began...and how it might ultimately end.
Call Number: Q175.5 .R365 2011
Publication Date: 2011-09-20
The Physics Toolbox by Kirsten A. Hubbard; Debora M. KatzTHE PHYSICS TOOLBOX is a "paperback mentor" specifically created to help you succeed in your introductory physics course. It provides the material critical for success in this course, including an introduction to the nature of physics and science, a look at "what to expect" and "how to succeed," a verbal overview of the concepts you will learn in this course, and an extensive review of the math you will need to solve the problems in this course.