Topics include agriculture, ecosystem, ecology, renewable energy sources, marine and freshwater science, geography, natural resources, pollution and waste management, environment law, urban planning, and more.
The premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed, differing views present each side of an issue and help students develop information literacy, critical thinking skills, and the confidence to draw their own valid conclusions.
Includes the full-text databases, Agricultural Science Collection, Aquatic Science Collection, Atmosopheric Science Collection, Biological Science Collection, Computer Science Collection, Environmental Science Collection, and Materials Science Collection. This collection also includes over 30 abstract-only databases in various scientific fields.
Science Magazine, which publishes the latest scientific news, research, and opinions.
Best Bets and New Additions
Imitation of Life by Nancy ForbesHow scientists are using nature as model and metaphor to reinvent computing: a survey of an emerging field. As computers and the tasks they perform become increasingly complex, researchers are looking to nature--as model and as metaphor--for inspiration. The organization and behavior of biological organisms present scientists with an invitation to reinvent computing for the complex tasks of the future. In Imitation of Life, Nancy Forbes surveys the emerging field of biologically inspired computing, looking at some of the most impressive and influential examples of this fertile synergy. Forbes points out that the influence of biology on computing goes back to the early days of computer science--John von Neumann, the architect of the first digital computer, used the human brain as the model for his design. Inspired by von Neumann and other early visionaries, as well as by her work on the "Ultrascale Computing" project at the Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA), Forbes describes the exciting potential of these revolutionary new technologies. She identifies three strains of biologically inspired computing: the use of biology as a metaphor or inspiration for the development of algorithms; the construction of information processing systems that use biological materials or are modeled on biological processes, or both; and the effort to understand how biological organisms "compute," or process information. Forbes then shows us how current researchers are using these approaches. In successive chapters, she looks at artificial neural networks; evolutionary and genetic algorithms, which search for the "fittest" among a generation of solutions; cellular automata; artificial life--not just a simulation, but "alive" in the internal ecosystem of the computer; DNA computation, which uses the encoding capability of DNA to devise algorithms; self-assembly and its potential use in nanotechnology; amorphous computing, modeled on the kind of cooperation seen in a colony of cells or a swarm of bees; computer immune systems; bio-hardware and how bioelectronics compares to silicon; and the "computational" properties of cells.
Call Number: QH307.2 .F64 2004
Publication Date: 2004-05-21
RNA by James E. DarnellIn RNA: Life's Indispensable Molecule, Jim Darnell provides a comprehensive and captivating account of RNA research, illuminated by his own life-long and celebrated engagement in the field. Darnell describes how scientists unraveled fundamental questions about the biochemical and geneticimportance of RNA - how mRNAs are generated and used to produce proteins, how noncoding and catalytic RNAs mediate key cellular processes, and how RNA molecules likely initiated life on Earth. With a scope extending from the early 20th century to the present day, and with the clarity expected froman accomplished textbook author, he conveys the intellectual context in which these questions first arose and explains how the key experiments were structured and answers obtained. The book is geared towards scientists from the graduate level on up, and will particularly appeal to activeinvestigators in RNA biology, educators of molecular biology and biochemistry, and science historians.
Call Number: QP623 .D37 2011
Publication Date: 2011-07-21
The Human Superorganism by Rodney DietertA cutting-edge new book that reveals how foreign microbes might actually be good for us, contrary to past belief. The microorganisms that we have sought to eliminate have been supporting our ancestors for centuries. They comprise 90 percent of the cells in our bodies and yet we have significantly reduced their power, sparking an epidemic of new diseases, or superbugs. The Human Superorganism presents pioneering research and offers a blueprint for a revolution in public health, by going against what we always thought was true: that foreign microbes are bad for us.
Call Number: RA776.9 .D553 2016
Publication Date: 2016-07-12
The Animal Within Us by Jay D. Glass
Call Number: GN365.9 .G53 1998
Publication Date: 1998-02-01
This celebration of natural splendour spans seven continents and visits some of the earth's remotest regions to reveal a magnificent panorama of worlds largely untamed by humankind. It includes information ranging from penguins to plate tectonics.