Skip to main content

Library Orientation

How to Find a Journal Article

If you want to find a journal article, you can find it through our online databases. 

  •  Begin at the RBC Library web page: www.rbc.edu/library
  •  Select Articles under the “Find Items” heading.
  •  Next, select a subject area or database/journal by title.  Here are some suggestions: 
  • Searching tips: You may want to limit your search by date, to only articles available in full‐text, and/or to only scholarly/peer‐reviewed journals.
  • If an article is not available in full‐text, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan.

More Resources

Full-Text VIVA Online Journal Locator - Directory of journals available online through all VIVA databases. This directory is available both on- and off-campus. Database links within VIVA’s online journal directory will only work on-campus. To access actual databases from off-campus, use the appropriate database links on the Library’s website.

Find it Virginia - Databases available to patrons of Virginia public libraries. A public library barcode number is needed for access.

JSTOR’s Register and Read Program - JSTOR has unlocked many journals in their archive and allows anyone to register with their site and read up to 3 articles every 14 days! You do not have to be affiliated with a college or university to participate in this program.

Oxford University Press - Over 100 periodical titles in the fields of the humanities, social sciences, and the sciences. The full text is generally available for the past several years, though abstracts of articles date back additional years.