Icons made by Smashicons from www.flaticon.com
Exploring Writing by
Becoming a writer is a journey, and Exploring Writing: Paragraphs and Essays will serve as your students&’ guidebook every step of the way. Emphasizing both process and practice, with a focus on revision, this text will help students apply and advance their writing skills. Mastering essential sentence skills, learning to write effective paragraphs and essays, and becoming a critical reader are turning points for every writer, and they will prepare the students for writing situations in college and beyond.
Successful College Writing by
With comprehensive coverage of reading and study skills, step-by-step strategies for writing and research, and a unique visual approach to learning,Successful College Writingprovides in-depth instruction on the skills other composition texts assume students already possess. The third edition provides even more help in the areas where students need it most and a stronger emphasis on assessment and self-evaluation.
The College Writer by
Combining streamlined, nuts-and-bolts writing instruction with outstanding accessibility and visual appeal, The College Writer breaks new ground in brief rhetorics. From dynamic visuals to engaging essays and examples, the authors have made both content and presentation optimally exciting and useful for the student. While many first-year writing texts fail to appeal to visual learners, this book targets the needs of less-prepared students, with four-color line drawings, color-coded headings, easy-to-grasp graphic organizers, and other guiding design elements on nearly every two-page spread. These hallmark features have led to very successful Write Source titles, published by Houghton Mifflin' s Great Source Division and on the College Division' s College Survival list.Streamlined presentation. Avoiding the discursive, detailed presentation that often confuses or burdens students using other rhetorics, The College Writer opens each chapter with concise writing instruction followed by engaging examples and writing assignments. Diagrams, charts, and graphic organizers efficiently demonstrate ideas and principles, reducing the number of pages of text pages required for explanation.Engaging four-color design. Color-coded headings, humorous line drawings, and other four-color design elements guide students through the book and ensure better retention of material.Quick-reference features. Step-indexing and color-coding allow students to thumb directly into the topic they' re looking for. Checklists and summary boxes make it easy to refer back to material covered earlier.Handbook. A built-in handbook adds to the easy reference features for student writers.Friendly, coachingtone. The authors' accessible presentation is exceptionally encouraging to students.Superior technology coverage. In addition to offering fully integrated material on writing-process related topics such as researching online and using an online writing lab, the text covers such issues as creating a web site and publishing online.Text-enhancing CD. A CD-ROM provides the entire text in searchable format. It takes students through one student writer' s experience in writing a research paper and engages them with instructional video and audio clips, animated graphic organizers, and appealing interactive exercises.
Steps to Writing Well by
The informal, student-friendly tone of these rhetorically-organized rhetoricl/reader/handbooks provides step-by-step instructions on writing a variety of 500 to 800 word essays.
Writer's Resources by
Using four student peers who share their work throughout the book and an accompanying CD-ROM, this worktext provides resources to help students develop their own writer's voice.